Congratulations to the 8 Peruvian women nominated for the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize. They are:

  • Maria Cleofé Sumire López founded the Andean Women’s Association (AMA).
  • Felícitas Estela Linares Meneses founded the Communication and Environment Institute (Icma).
  • Angélica Mendoza Almeida – National Association of Families of the Disappeared
  • Carmen Rosa Campos Mendoza, poverty campaigner
  • Virginia (Gina) Vargas Valente, Flora Tristán Women’s Centre
  • Hilaria Supa Huamán, campaigner for the rights of agricultural workers
  • María Luisa Alvarez Llave, co-founder of the Union of Cusco
  • Pilar Coll Torrente, works for the National Coordinator of Human Rights